What's On

Welcome Back with Houstoun

The New Zealand Herald Premier Series

This concert is sold out

This concert is sold out

Director Andrew Beer
Piano Michael Houstoun

John Psathas The Five Million (world premiere)
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.1 
R. Strauss Wind Serenade
Dvořák Serenade for Strings

The APO returns to the stage after lockdown in triumphant mood with a star pianist and a world premiere.

The concert opens with a new commission by renowned New Zealand composer John Psathas - a fanfare to celebrate the achievements of our ‘Team of Five Million’.

The much-loved NZ pianist Michael Houstoun is delaying his retirement to 2021 and APO is thrilled that he is still joining the orchestra for this momentous concert. He’ll be performing Beethoven’s splendid First Piano Concerto, a nod to the great composer’s 250th birthday this year.

Two wonderful serenades put our woodwind and string musicians in the spotlight. Richard Strauss’ Wind Serenade for 13 wind instruments, written when he was only 17, is melodic and lyrical. Dvořák’s beloved Serenade for Strings, reflects the composer’s growing confidence as he took his first steps towards fame and recognition.

Due to the impact of COVID-19 this concert has been renamed with changes to soloists and repertoire. Existing tickets for this concerts are still valid. If you wish to attend and already have a ticket there is no need to get in touch and we look forward to seeing you.

If you are an APO subscriber and unable to make this concert we cannot offer refunds, however we will exchange your tickets for another concert or keep your funds on your account as credit. You can use this credit to make a booking until 31 March 2021. Please use the link below to register changes to your subscription.

Related Events




Tickets to individual concerts can be booked through Ticketmaster.


Book just four tickets to our concerts and become a subscriber. Enjoy exclusive discounts and no booking fees. 

Keep in touch

Problem with this page?